Holy Trinity Bettws was a chapel of ease to St Michel’s Church in Clyro. Standing in the middle of farmland with stunning views over Herefordshire and the Black Mountains, it was rebuilt almost entirely in 1878 though the roof may survive from the 14th century. The 13th century font was brought from St Michael’s at Clyro. Parts of screen are late 14th century or later and the ornate floor tiles by Godwin of Lugwardine were laid in 1879 (Gill, M A V, 1998 & 2003).
Kilvert wrote in his diaries that it was here at Bettws that he had to break the ice on the font to baptise a child and children continue to be a strong part of the chapel. There is a small garden by the side of Bettws where a stand of silver birch, beech hedge and roses surround the grave of Tom Grahame, a much loved six year old boy who died in 2010. Hearing children’s voices fill the chapel and garden with song is a solace and joy for Tom’s family and friends.